Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Laurainsa

Warming Up

:blink: I have been a volleyball coach for 2 years, I coached babies last year which wasn't hard but now I have a 5th grade team of experienced players. Other then stretching leg muscles on the floor and running laps what are some good warm-up techniques to get the girls to move and be flexible on the court? Thanks

Coaching Youth Fooball - Football Plays

I have my girls line up at the 10 ft line and go through their hit approach and block approach. Each girl does her hit approach at the right, middle and left of the court and then return to the back of the line to begin blocking in the right, middle and left of the court. each girl does each approach twice hit hit block block. when run propperly it should only take about 5 min. Onece the first girl has done her hit approach at the left of the court she runs to the middle and the next girl in line begins this way there are almost always three girls approach ing at the same time. it gets them used to being close to the net and helps them learn not to run into it. you could have the girls split up and run the drill on each side of the net so that they become used to their opponents blocking and being up close. it also goes quicker that way.

Our team's warmup routine has changed quite a bit over the last few years. We now start practice with a Hi-5 with the coach that says the player is ready to get serious. From there, our white board will say something pretty close to this: 5&5,4 lines easy, 2-2-2-2, 3-3-3-3, 5-3-3-5, combo - stevenson without the ball / off-the-net L-M-R x3ea., at least 3 right hand/right step jump serves from behind attack line.

Tutoring by request.