Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
zeal

Teaching

Hello, I'm looking for a sounding board -- I've been coaching 7-10 year old girls softball for about two years with, as far as I know, good results. I confess that I have an aggressive philosophy. I played college baseball and I believe in teaching fundamentals and making sure mechanics are correct.

This past summer my 8 year old daughter played on a travel team where the coaches were quite passive -- to the point where players were executing poorly (even making fundamental mistakes) and no one said anything. Example -- none of the coaches were helping the catchers (a critical position because of the unlimited stealing). My daughter was interested in this position so I went to the library, got a good video (I was not a catcher), and immediately realized that none of the coaches knew anything about the fundamentals of catching.

My quandry is this -- my daughter wanted to continue to play in the fall and in order to have a team, I had to step in to coach. The players got used to the passive style, and now have me in their faces. Although I think their skills have improved, some are intimidated and uncomfortable with me. Our Manager (who was one of the coaches over the summer) has told me this.

I'm ready to back off, keep my mouth shut, and simply keep the book and shag balls. I absolutely do not want any player to feel uncomfortable. By the same token, if these girls want to move on, they need instruction (even some criticism), right? What would you do?

Sorry for the long message, and all thoughts, comments, etc. are most welcome. Thanks very much.

Zeal,

I think we have all faced this problem. How tough should we be with the kids? It's never an easy question to answer.

For one you don't want to chase kids away from play but at the same time part of playing youth sports is learning about discipline and committment.