Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
COACHDOUG

1st Year Flag Football Coach

hey guys, first year coach on flag football, grades 3 thru 4, whole different world, ive been coaching my son in baseball since 3 1/2 years old thru 8 years old.

thanks in advance guys!!

Hey Doug,

Welcome to this forum. Last season was my first in football (although like you I had coached other sports prior). It IS a different world.

My #1 piece of advice: make sure you get buy in from the parents (on day one) regarding practice (meaning that they show up). You will probably find--as I did--that other teams in your league have probably been playing together for many seasons, which will put you at a disadvantage. I found TEAM execution outweighs individual athletic prowress. Just my two cents. Feel free to ask anything specific that you think someone can help you with here---and I'm sure you'll get lots of good advice, and of course let us all know how you are progressing.

hey guys, first year coach on flag football, grades 3 thru 4, whole different world, ive been coaching my son in baseball since 3 1/2 years old thru 8 years old.

thanks in advance guys!!

This is also my first year of coaching 2/3 grade flag 5 on 5. I have coached baseball, soccer, softball, volleyball and I can say this is much different. My best advice is make sure you explain to your kids why you running drill A or drill B, why you are having them fake a handoff, the reason for the reverse etc. The kids will do whatever you tell to do usually with no questions asked, but when I actually spent time explaining to them why they are doing it the execution became much better almost immediately.

Basic advice I know, but as first time coaches we sometimes get caught up in having the kids execute with out them knowing why.