Y-coach.com - Forum

Greetings everyone,

I am a volunteer for the local Y and I will be coaching my first flag football team. It will be a 7 on 7 or 8 on 8 games for 4 & 5 year old kids. Can someone help me with some useful tips for this age group? My main goal is for the kids to have fun and allow them to play all positions; but I am new to american football and also to coaching this age group. My goal in the practice is to teach them to:

1. pull the flags

2. avoid getting their flags pulled (without guarding)

3. line up after huddle

4. Snap the ball (down, set hike)

5. possible three plays (left, center, right)

Any suggestions or ideas will be greatly appreciated... you can email them to me also at leo@infralap.com

Regards,

Leo

those are good to start with.i would teach them 2 running plays and 1 passing play...i referee this age groups and coaches try to do way to much at this age.

teach them basics:

flag pulling

catching

how to take a handoff & how to throw the ball

make sure they run to the right endzone and make sure they dont pull there own teammates flag

these are probably the biggest mistakes i see.

also for defense please line the kids up in a zone in a 3-2.dont do man defense.this will lead to the other team getting a lot of long runs on you.

Any suggestions or ideas will be greatly appreciated
The best suggestion I can give you is to read through some of the threads that are "pinned" in the Flag Football forum under Important Topics.

If you're dealing with 4-5 y/o's I'd recommend getting the book "How to herd cats". ;) Seriously though, you'll be dealing with some very basic stuff at that level. Rushbuster is correct, finding a handful of basic concepts and going over and over and over them is your best bet.