Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Coach3

Read And React Offense

So Im in my 4th year coaching youth basketball and 2nd with a different school. I'm more geared towards defenses as thats what I pride myself in. I've been doing my research in trying to install a motion offense but then a different approach entered my mind. What about the Read and React offense which is suppose to be a simple offense and can combat any defense. What exactly is the difference between the motion and the R&R offense? Cant wait to get the practice sessions going.

R&R pdf

What exactly is the difference between the motion and the R&R offense?

Motin offense:

- High IQ pre-requisite

- Players w/o ball have

many options

- Too much freedom

Read & React:

- Developmental

- Players w/o ball have 1

reaction

- 1 player with ball has

freedom; 4 has

diciplined reactions

Hello Frank,

I've read your question regarding the contrasts between Motion and a "read and react" offense.

I have also looked through about half of the pages of the pdf posted above me in the thread.

I suppose my primary question would be "what exactly are the offensive players reading and reacting to?".

As a coach I believe we must presume every student knows nothing about the game of basketball while at the same time looking for players (which I'll call College Recruiting) who have a lot of basketball savvy. The first allows us as coaches to properly prepare for the art of teaching - and that is what coaching is. The second helps the first and gives us a chance to do some other things in that teaching as the result of "better" players. I bring this up because I actually find the concept of "high IQ" being a negative requirement of a player to be quite upsetting. I'm building young people for the world of tomorrow and I'm doing it through sport. Ergo cultivating a player who can think and is not an automaton is critical both to my basketball tactics and society.