Coaching Youth Fooball - Football Plays
caneincgfl

Teaching The Basics - Techniques You Use

15 posts in this topic

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post. Thank you to everyone here, this is a great forum.

I am a first-time head coach for 8-9 year old 7 on 7 flag. The league is open to both boys and girls so I might have both on my team. There is a draft so I don't know my players yet.

What I am looking for is some basic pointers to give the kids on vital elements such as catching the ball, making and receiving handoffs, flag-pulling techniques, how to hold the ball while running, etc.

Can you folks share your pointers for the basic elements? Thanks.

Coaching Youth Fooball - Football Plays

Welcome to the forum and the head coaching realm!

You can probably google all the items you mentioned and find a ton of info, so if our answers don't satisfy, keep that in mind.

Catching the ball:

I teach my kids to catch the ball with their fingers first, not their body or hands. Reason is the ball has more chance of bouncing off body or flat hands. The receiver should give the QB a target by holding out their palms out with the index fingers and thumbs almost touching.

22379be5b9934dea953cf46.jpg

We emphasize looking the ball into your hands. Have the kids line up straight across with a couple of coaches throwing ball to them. The coaches should throw the balls high, low, and to the sides. Kids should be turning their heads and actually "watching the ball into their hands".

Pair up kids about 10 yards apart, have them throw passes back and forth. Once they get comfortable, have them keep track of how many passes and see who can make the most consecutive passes with no drops in X amount of time. For the better players, walk in front of them, behind them, stand next to them and talk right in their ears about not dropping the pass. Helps their concentration.

Making and receiving handoffs: