Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest godawgs0367

Play Calling Help

Guest godawgs0367

I am getting ready to be a first time head coach. I have been an assistant coach before. My team is 6-7 year olds. We run 6 on 6. We have to alternate in players and rotate positions. Our first scrimmage is in 2 weeks. I am going to have 2 practices before then.

My biggest problem is how to keep the offense simple but yet not waste time drawing up the play and getting players in position during every huddle. I did not like how the previous head coach ran the offense. It was mass chaos. Trying to get players in the huddle, getting them lined up, who was the rb this time, who is the qb, etc.

My game plan is 3 offense plays (with variations) but how do I tell them run this play and you are center, qb, rb etc. Easily. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Hope what I am asking makes sense. Thank you!

Congrats on volunteering to become a head coach.

What are your rotating requirements? Everyone plays QB (and all positions for that matter)during the game or everyone needs to get the ball during the game? If it is the latter you can design an offense to get the ball to each player(or 2 or 3) using the same backfield action. Then teach each player 2 positions and their assigned backfield action. Are you required to sub in players during a series? If so good luck with 6/7's. You will need a good assistant coach to help manage it.

That being said, with only 2 practices that probably will not happen. Start with 1 play and get it working before moving on. Last season (80% new team same age group) it took me 4 practices to get 4 plays in (all with the same backfield action). Keep the end in mind.