Y-coach.com - Forum
WillLennon

New Coach Intro

I coach 6-8 yo 5 v 5 in an i9 League. This is my first year as a head coach, last year (4 & 5 yo) I was an assistant. Last year there was little structure to the practice or games, although the kids had fun. This year I wanted more structure and to develop skills in my players. We had our first practice and game last week. The practice went well, we did a few drills and I installed three basic plays out of the same formation. Defensive game plan was non existent. Kids did great in practice, but seemed to forget everything in the game. We lost 0-7 and only generated one sustained long drive (5-6 plays).

One of the challenges I find with the I9 format is you only have a one hour practice a week and that is right before a game. After practice a lot of the younger kids are tired and have a tough time staying focued. It works well for my scheudule, but I am not sure it is best for kids this age. I cannot change it, so I started looking around the webn for advice and found this site yesterday and have found more info than I could ever retain.

I found a lot of great info on drills, keeping kids engaged, playbooks, etc.

Thanks to all of the contributors, I have refocused my efforts for the upcoming week.

Go Bulldogs!

Will Lennon

One of the challenges I find with the I9 format is you only have a one hour practice a week and that is right before a game. After practice a lot of the younger kids are tired and have a tough time staying focued.
Welcome to the forums Will. The 1 hr practice deal is very common in the rec leagues of all sports; i9 pushes it even further with the "one hour before the game" practice. A big plus to that format is the retention factor for the kids, the downside is what you're experiencing.