Y-coach.com - Forum
BamaDevO

First Game

I am coaching 4-5 yr. old children and we just finished our first game.

As a coach I think I would enjoy hearing about another coach's ordeal in their first game...so here it goes...

At the start of the game I set the kids up in their positions (coaches can be on the field at this age) and the other team had the kick. After they kicked the ball around and eventually out of bounds, one of my kids took off running from his place straight to his mother (who was sitting down) and got a big hug! :huh: He immediately turned and ran straight to his position again and everyone had a great laugh! :D

I only had one handball called for the game! WOW! B) I was expecting more! The only one happened to be when a little boy grabbed the ball up, set it in front of our goal, and kicked it in! :o Our own goal! :blink:

I also had one little girl who would not go into the game. She wanted to sit with her mother and not play. When I went ahead and picked another kid to play and the game got started, here came the little girl running up to me and saying she was ready to play! (yes, she ran onto the field and straight to me). I decided to put her in when the quarter ended and she played for a few minutes and then I looked over to see her sitting with mom again and not on the field. Whew! :(

One boy let the ball hit him (yes, hit him!) four times, but he never got a foot on the ball. I told him to kick the ball and he just said, "I can't"! :ph34r:

Then there was the kid who kept coming up to me and apologizing for players bumping into him! :huh: I told him it was o.k. when they bump into you so keep playing.