Y-coach.com - Forum
gbv

Help Being A New Coach

Well, I am going to be a new coach for my son in the Orange County area and can use some pointers. I have never done this before and could use some ideas on practices and how to present yourself well with the parent. Anything would be appreciated. Thanks, Tim

Tim,

Call a parents meeting so that you get a chance to meet the parents and get a feel for their expectations. This is also your chance to convey to them what your focus for the season will be and goals and philospophy for your team will be and how you will handle discipline.

This will help cutdown on problems you may encounter with parents as the season progresses in regards to playing time and position opportunities.

You need to be organized and ready to go before every practice begins. Know what skills you want to focus on and what drills you want to run and for how long. The last thing you want to do is waste time and have a bunch of kids standing around waiting to do something.

Keep it simple, focus on the fundamentals and just have fun.

Good Luck!

Schann

First of all congratulations on your decision to coach! This is a great opportunity to interact with your child and his/her friends and parents. I previously coached my sons tee ball team, last year I did not get to coach his rookie team. However, I used it as a season to help coach and to learn from other coaches. I will be coaching his team this year and here are a couple of items that I am implementing.

Parents meeting. I am not completely sold on this. An alternative approach that I am considering is a one page handout for them. I may use the meeting and handout as well. Just depends on the team I get.

Practice - Again here is my approach I am not telling you how it should be done. Every practice will have a theme. Base Running, HItting, Throwing Fielding etc. Note that each practice will have many different drills.