Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
tpbuck

Planning Practice

Hi guys. I was excited to find this forum, as i'm a first-time head coach getting ready to start the season. I've assisted a lot previously, but this is my first time stepping up as the head man.

One thing i need help with is starting the season. I'm trying to figure out where to start with my team. I obviously want to work on the basics (blocking & tackling) early & often. We don't have a lot of practices before we play our first game (6-8 practices) and i think that planning the early season work is critical.

What do i start with? My thoughts: Stance, footwork, & exploding out of your stance, followed by tackling basics. Am i missing/forgetting something?

How quickly do you introduce hole numbering & plays?

I'd love to hear what some of you do for your first few practices. What do you cover and what drills do you use?

Thanks Guys,

Thom

I think, since you only have a handful of practices before the first game, that you need to cover the hole numbers night one. I don't know how you'll be able to pick a lineup and install and offense and defense in that short of time; especially if you have more than a couple of days without pads.

I completely agree that you need the fundamentals. I like to start every practice with blocking and tackling fundamentals. For tackling, the drills I like are, what I call, the box drill and the pursuit drill.

In the box drill, I set up cones (denoted by ^, ignore the dashes)

O

O

O

O

^

-

- (7-10 yards)

-

-------------^-----^

-

-

-------------^-----^

-

- (7-10 yards)

-

^

X

X

X

X

The ball carrier line is the O's and the tacklers are the X's. On the whistle, both the ball carrier and the tackler race to the 4 cones making the box. The ball carrier can do anything to avoid the tackle in the box, but has to pass through it. The tackler, using proper form, executes the tackle in the box.

For the pursuit drill,