Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
HA34

Help With First Time Coaching 3rd And 4th Graders

This is my first time coaching. I have 15 kids on my team(7- 4th, 7- 3rd, & 1- 2nd grade). We will have only 3 practices(in one week) before our first game. Looks like we will have 5-6 large boys(mostly 4th graders). We will probably have two options at QB, one 4th grader with a great arm but slow to average speed and a 3rd grader with an above average arm and good speed. Our backs will be on the small inexperienced side.

I would be greatful for any assistance. What would be the easiest offense to install to fit the circumstances and kids?

Thanks

This is my first time coaching. I have 15 kids on my team(7- 4th, 7- 3rd, & 1- 2nd grade). We will have only 3 practices(in one week) before our first game. Looks like we will have 5-6 large boys(mostly 4th graders). We will probably have two options at QB, one 4th grader with a great arm but slow to average speed and a 3rd grader with an above average arm and good speed. Our backs will be on the small inexperienced side.

I would be greatful for any assistance. What would be the easiest offense to install to fit the circumstances and kids?

Thanks

Well for me speed always wins over size at that level. I would run just a very watered down I-formation with the dives and sweeps and qb bootlegs for the first game since you only have 3 practices and then add on from there.

Thanks

Coach,

You can check out my site; I have a lot of free resources on offense and defense that will help you out.

I would not simply run a I formation..it is not the best youth offense to run unless you have a dominant TB that can get around the edge or you have the ability to get up the middle with a dominant line. Power I or Doube Tight I using either WB or Flanker is a good start but again only if you have dominant type TB.