Y-coach.com - Forum
Sign in to follow this  
beadlecoach

What Is The Best 11 Year Old Tackle Offense

I've been a coach for many years at the high school level, but now coach my son's tackle football team. Last year the boys were small, new to tackle, and we utilized Cisar's single wing. (WE GOT CRUSHED EVERY GAME). My QB was very, very slow, and the offense was so readable, that we only made 4 first downs all year.

I don't want to repeat the year, but I do like the aspects of the single wing. It's easy for the kids, the direct snap was very successful, (I don't like qb behind center), and with some confidence and skill, they could have done better.

I'm looking for maybe something similar. I've looked into the wing t and like it's misdirection, but don't like QB under center.

I personally think the double wing is too complicated for this group.

I'm half inclined to just go I formation, but I keep reading horror stories about how easy the defense can crush this.

IN CLOSING. what do you all recommend, why, and possible sites to get more information.

As a high school coach I ran I formation, with much success...but again...these are untalented 11 year olds.

We run double wing with 3rd graders. we use the TKO (track and kick out) scheme. I really like it because its really easy for the line - like zone blocking they just need to take the correct first step and head in the right direction, blocking whoever gets in front of them. the angles that the line takes also means that they will have an advantage blocking better athletes. the kick out blocks can be used to take out that stud defensive end that usually eats offenses alive.

If you get your powers and counters and the wedge clicking in a game, it really seems to set up the sweep because the defense will stack the box more and more.