Y-coach.com - Forum
kaufdog2000

Need Help With Hitting Drills

I am a new coach for T-ball 5-6 years olds and have a very difficult time teaching the kids to hit off the "T" with any power. I have some backround in teaching older kids, but am not "connecting" with the younger kids. I have taught them stance and "squashing the bugs"(rotating thier hips), but i can't seem to teach them how to break their writsts on their swings. Are there any drills or ideas you all may have that can help, or am i just expecting to much from this age group?

I have used a soccer/volley ball sitting on the tee (use a plunger through the tee to hold the ball). The bigger ball makes them swing harder and I work on making sure they follow through and don't stop the swing on contact. Can make it competetive and see who hits the ball farthest to help them swing hard and follow through.

• Like 1

I have used a soccer/volley ball sitting on the tee (use a plunger through the tee to hold the ball). The bigger ball makes them swing harder and I work on making sure they follow through and don't stop the swing on contact. Can make it competetive and see who hits the ball farthest to help them swing hard and follow through.

This!

We used this technique as well and it makes a huge difference.

We've also used water balloons on warm days. Kids want to smash those. ;)

On the flip side, if you have kids that are having trouble throwing hard, introduce target games, or dodge ball.

That gets them to throw hard and straight too.

The big ball does work. I would recommend a rubber playground ball over a soccer ball but either will work.