Y-coach.com - Forum
richbub

How Many Plays Do You Have For 9-11 Y/o?

Just wondering how many plays I should have in our play book? Most boys haven't played before. And would you call a play in a game that you haven't practiced? We're really only going to end up with about 3 practices prior to the season starting and I'm a first year coach. Thanks

Let us know the age and how many kids on the field at once and you will get some great answers. Overall, keep it simple, only 1 or 2 formations, 3-5 plays per formation for younger players under 8. Also practice each play many times as you can't "see" the play until you run it, which allows you teaching moments. If you are lucky enough to have 2 full teams, practice each play against your defense, letting both sides of the ball learn.

Start w/ 1.....once they can run that one to your satisfaction (starters and backups) add in a 2nd and repeat the process, then a 3rd, etc.

Don't move on to play 2 until play 1 is installed.

You can put as many plays in your playbook as you want but don't try to install 8 plays on the 1st night, in fact don't try to install more than 1 or 2.

It never ceases to amaze me how many plays I end up with each season. I start out with a handful of plays and after each game would find myself modifying and adding plays. In the end, I usually only run with a core group of 5-6 plays. The biggest drawback to having a lot of plays is sorting through them all when trying to call a play.

Couple of thoughts. I'd focus on the fundamentals surrounding the plays. No matter what kind or how many plays you end up with, if your kids can't execute the task at hand (e.g. good fake, take a proper hand off, run the proper route) it won't matter how many plays you have.