Y-coach.com - Forum
BIG HUSKY

Help With Low Scoring Team

I am a first year head coach coaching 9 and 10 yr old boys. My offense has scored 3 baskets or less in our 1st two games. We are getting lots of uncontested jumpshots from the foul line extended. Any suggestions?

I am a first year head coach coaching 9 and 10 yr old boys. My offense has scored 3 baskets or less in our 1st two games. We are getting lots of uncontested jumpshots from the foul line extended. Any suggestions?

Are most of your shots being taken from the outside? If you could fill in a few more details of what you think the problem is, that would help. Without really knowing much about your team and the overall skill set of your players (e.g. most of the kids can dribble with their heads up, can do basic layups, etc.), it's hard to give you specific suggestions for your team. Could be one, some or a combo of the stuff listed below (this assumes that most of the kids can dribble and pass moderately well):

1) Shooting from too far out

2) Just throwing it up in the general direction of the basket (incorrect form)

3) Lack of confidence - not taking the shot when open

4) Players just need practice time shooting

5) Need work on layups

6) Not driving to the basket when path is clear

7) Lack of ball movement to find the open player under the basket

8) Working on passing and cutting to the basket

9) Not putting the ball back up after a rebound

10) No picks or screens

CRob

Thx. I have 3 "b" players, no "a" players and 8 boys altogether. Offensively we are running a 5 Out Zone Offense where we swing the ball on the perimeter and the weak side wing cuts to the ball side foul line for a jump shot or drive or pass to the ball side corner who is cutting to the basket. The first game we just couldn't execute but game two we ran the offense to perfection, but couldn't hit a shot.